Nothing to see here

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This weekend – the kids decided they were going to visit the family.  They planned to leave the house on Saturday, and stay overnight in either Beaver Dam or Watertown, and return Sunday afternoon/evening-ish, and thus return to the normal schedule of up Monday morning for work.

This meant I had the apartment to myself.  All to myself, with nary a soul (except the cats) to come between me and the elements.

Whatever would I do with my free time?  This is where most people trot out a list of things they’ve put off in hopes of having some free time.  Me…not so much.  I planned to do nothing.  Absolutely nothing.  In as few articles of clothing as possible.

Which means jammies – as it’s still NOT warm up here, and I’m a heat-miser.

Nothing is under-rated and unduly demonized in this country.  If you’re not doing something every second of every day, you’re a lazy, shiftless, aimless layabout dreamer, and you should be hauled out into the street and shot.

Well…that may be a tad harsh…

A-Pagoda

Very quiet pagoda

I enjoy nothing time.  The apartment is as it used to be – q.u.i.e.t.  No other voices…other than the occasional cat noise.  I can hear the silence, and the things below it.  Sometimes I’ll meditate to the silence…but not this weekend.  Meditation was far too ‘something’ for a nothing day.

I bounced around between some rather dreadful movies off Amazon Prime (to which I nodded off in my chair for a nap) to a bit of research on the ‘net, to a computer game.

I managed to sweep the floors.

Amused the cats for a spell.  Dangled some things, pointed the laser at the walls, stayed in my chair to become warm-blooded furniture.

Banged about on my keyboard for a bit, then erased what I’d written.  The muse wanted a jammie day too, so we relaxed together.  Never fear, she’ll prod me when she’s got an idea to share.

Ran out when I damn well wanted to for some foodstuffs…because that required clothing other than jammies.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Be still…and watch the birdies.

Above all else, I enjoyed the silence of my apartment.

When did we disallow free time to just dream?  When did everything, even our free time, have to be spent doing SOMETHING?  Our world goes so fast – our lives speed up, and we attempt to go faster and faster and cram more and more into a single minute.

I think it’s time to slow down.

2 thoughts on “Nothing to see here

  1. I absolutely love “nothing time”. Have a friend who has brought Doing Nothing to a fine art. We run away sometimes for a week at a timeshare and literally Do Nothing. Well … we might wallow in a bubbledyboop (those hot tub thingies), and we’ll nibble on this or that, watch movies, read, maybe even take a veeeeryyy slowwww amble if we feel like it. But absolutely no sightseeing. No projects. It is total bliss!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

