Just how low can you get?

Coco butter bomb 1

20.  That’s low.  For carbs…

 

Last week, I went on a rampage about Coke and my ass.  The two have spent way too much time in each other’s company lately.

That’s changing.

I’ve been researching the low carb lifestyle for a bit, inspired by a friend of mine on FaceBook who’s been Keto’ing since January.  She’s a bit of a foodie, and she kept posting pictures of all the stuff she’s been doing in the kitchen.

I’ve decided to join her.

The eating style called Keto (short for Ketosis) has diners limit their carbohydrate intake drastically.  It also puts some limits on protein – and allows you a metric ton of fats per day.  My personal numbers, based on a calculator I found:

120g fat      25g carbs     100g protein                 per day

According to the calculator, this will put me at a moderate caloric deficit, in which my body (once it reaches ketosis) will start to burn my personal stores of fat.

Although ‘store’ is really too light a word – My personal fat stores are somewhere between a WalMart SuperCenter and the Mall of America’s available merchandise.

So almost a week on the low carb thing – how did I do?

Saturday:  A dry run, to see if this was feasible.  I made it to around 1pm, then dug out the leftover Chicken Noodle Soup from the ‘fridge.  Hello, Carb Bomb!  Did some grocery shopping to be better prepared for tomorrow.

Sunday:  Did pretty good.  Any ‘diet’ that allows me to eat bacon in the morning is my kind of diet…Stayed on target for total carb intake, went over on protein, low on fats.  Howinhell am I gonna eat that much fat???

Monday:  Missing bready things.  Why do the bready things not love me anymore?  Tried to make a bready-muffiny thing (Kitchen of Horror, anyone), got disgusted, ate some more bacon.  Bacon ALMOST made things better…but the cheese sauce I made to pour over my nighttime veggies made up for it.

Tuesday:  Back to work.  Bacon and no bready things in the morning (I miss my morning toaster-waffle).  Sausage, cheese, and cauliflower dipped in ranch dressing for lunch.  Tried to make an avocado chocolate pudding (Kitchen of Horror, take II).

Have I mentioned I HATE Avocado?  Getting desperate for enough fats…

Turkey burger with lots of cheese melted on top, slathered with real mayo & spicy mustard.  Bacon for a side.  Maybe I CAN do this thing, after all…

Wednesday:  I made a ‘potato’ salad with cauliflower instead of starchy potatoes.  It was sooooo yum I couldn’t eat all of it.  Taking the remainder to work tomorrow.  I’m starting to feel confident in doing this keto thing!

And that brings us to today.  Maybe I’m in the throws of the dread ‘Keto-flu’.  No matter how much fat I shove into my stomach, I can’t get full…and I want a freaking Coke.

So I made Coconut Butter Bombs instead…coco butter bomb 2

These delightful little high-fat, sweet & nutty morsels may have just saved me from a full-blown Coke-fueled rampage through the bakery department at Woodman’s, Pick-N-Save, Costco, WalMart AND Aldi’s.

I still have to tweak the recipe a bit, as coconut butter is a bit grainy.  Maybe a touch more coconut oil, and a bit more heavy cream, to smooth things out…if you want to tweak my beginning work – let me know how it goes?

I can also see the appeal of melting extremely dark chocolate over the top.

Coconut Butter Bombs
1 cup coconut butter
3 TBSP coconut oil
21 drops SweetLeaf ™ chocolate Stevia Drops
1 tsp vanilla
1 TBSP heavy whipping cream
slivered almonds
shredded coconut (unsweetened)
Directions.
Melt coconut butter and coconut oil in a double boiler until liquid.  Add stevia &
vanilla.  Mix to blend.  Turn off the burner under the boiler.  Let the batter sit in its
hot pan of water, and prepare your mini muffin cups.  Put a sprinkling of slivered
almonds in the bottom, a sprinkling of shredded coconut on top.  Put the cups on a small
pan so you can easily transfer to the freezer.
Back to your mixture, add the heavy whipping cream.  The batter will immediately
thicken.  Stir until glossy.
 pour equal measures in the cups  & freeze until firm.  Makes 17 portions
 PER PIECE:    Cal  122        fat 12g        carb 1.2g        prot  1.35g
Leave a Reply

