She’s such a BRAT!

Brats

The Pinwheel of Deliciousness

Keto update again.

OK..I may have mentioned I live in Wisconsin.  Besides beer & cheese, the next thing that Wisconsinites worship as a divine foodstuff is Bratwurst.  In this state, the grill isn’t a backyard appliance, it’s an altar.

Baby Beer Bottle

Now, beer isn’t a problem for me, as I was one of the few children in this state who DIDN’T have fermented hops in their night-time bottle, so I dodged what some of the Keto bloggers out there have called the ‘liquid bread’ bullet.  Lucky me, eh?

,,,

,,,

,,,

Cheese is also not an issue on Keto, although I did have to learn a little something about this thing called ‘portion control.’  Whodathunk an entire brick of Brick was MORE than a single serving???

Crazy, I know…

But brats?  Now that’s something I can really get behind…because while the rest of the world is quaking in terror over this fat content of this glorious, spicy, thick tube of pork and beef…

**I love this bit!**

It’s just the kind of meat that’s encouraged in Keto. 🙂

Granted, I can’t easily get my FAVORITE brats, as they reside in a mom & pop store about an hour away, but I can get the commercially-available next-best-thing.  I still have yet to find a local butcher who’s sausage-making comes close to  Glenn’s Meat Market‘s meat-art.

If you want the best Wurst in South-Central Wisconsin, you should check out his shopping page.  He’s got a brat to fit every taste.  Seriously.

I can highly recommend:

Packer Brats (green pepper & cheddar cheese)

Greek Brats (you can REALLY taste the lamb)

Philly Cheese (motz, onion & peppers)

Beer, Garlic, Cheese…the list goes on and on.  He’s even got some new ones now – corned beef and Ruben.  Damn…I may have to make a road trip!

glennsmarketwatertownwi20130622_2

And, if you’re in the little town of Watertown, WI on any given Saturday, summer afternoon, Glenn will be happy to cook you up one (or more) of his fantastic sausages in his Brat Haus. (proceeds of the Brat Haus go to local charities, schools & organizations).  He runs his grill every Saturday afternoon from Memorial day to Labor day.

JUST FOLLOW YOUR NOSE!

Here’s my weekly Keto check in:

Thursday – Found yet another sweet experiment that didn’t quite work.  I blended some heavy cream with Mio Lemonade drops – WAAAAAAY too much of the flavorant.  I think I’m still puckering a week later!

Friday – The star of today’s show is two-fold.  Breakfast burritos for dinner (I’m non-traditional, what can I say) and the END of the damn heartburn!  It was the summer sausage I’d been eating, not the egg salad.  We’re crossing that little foodstuff OFF the grocery list!

For the breakfast burritos, scramble around a dozen eggs, brown a 12 oz tube of sage breakfast bulk sausage, and mix the two fully cooked proteins together.  Put a spoon of these mixed proteins in a soft tortilla shell (I use the 5g carb ones), add a bit of raw onion, a bit of chopped green bell pepper, a sprinkling of dark green leafy’s of your choice, a few sliced black olives, chunky salsa & sour cream to taste.  This was one of my pre-keto favorite meals, and I’m over the moon to know with a simple modification I can still have it.

Saturday – Egg salad (thankfully heartburn FREE!!!) and not-quite-Glenn’s brats.

Sunday – I really gotta stop experimenting with insanely weird stuff.  I picked up some hemp protein powder, chocolate flavored, blended it up with some water & heavy cream, and….EWWWWWW.  The stuff was grainy.  I spat out little bits of hemp fiber the rest of the day.  But it was OK, because I ended up not leaving the house all day.  In fact, I didn’t even bother to change out of my jammies.

The reason I didn’t leave the house?  I didn’t know that the Park & Rec department had sponsored a bike race from 11am to 9pm on Sunday.  I also didn’t know that the parking lot I usually keep my car was smack dab in the middle of the race route.  But…a little sunshine with this setback was I got to watch, from my living room windows,  extremely-well toned men (and women) race down the street like demons.  Front Row Balcony seating (with air conditioning) for the kids race.  The various sets went on All Day Long.

 

Monday – I.  Wanted.  Chicken.  So I got one of the good, marinated chicken breasts from the local Pick & Save, roasted it up, paired it with more sauteed green beans.  Killer Dinner!

Tuesday – F*&&^^!!!!  –  S*+^&^%$#!!!!   –  A@#$#$!!!!  –  B@$%&#$@#!!!!

I’m a little frustrated with work – so it felt good to let off a little steam.  Sadly, booking a ticket for the next flight to the left coast so I can kick my boss in the butt (REAL hard!!!) is unrealistic and would get me fired, so the next best thing is comfort food.

In my book up to this date – comfort food equals carbs, which will derail my ketosis.  Hmmmmmmmmm.

I settled on a walk, down to one of my favorite bar & grills in the downtown area:  Mainstream.    While I’m fairly familiar with their menu, I took a quick browse through the online version, to plan out exactly what I’d be putting on the bunless burger I needed.

Swiss Cheese

Lettuce

Tomato

Pickles

Bacon (definitely a requirement tonight!)

Fried Onion

Bell Pepper

And a generous shot of Spicy Brown Mustard.

The waitress was a bit taken back when I placed my order – but, then again, I was 1) ordering more stuff than can reasonably be piled between 2 pieces of bread without making a huge mess, and 2) I worked up the the finale of my order  with “OK…now here’s where it gets a bit weird…” before I asked her to have the grilled bun and the home made chips put in a take out container (I can’t eat these, but everyone else in the household can – so why da hell not???)

The waitress understood once I told her “I don’t do carbs…but everyone else at home does…”  That’s all it took to get complete understanding.

What was presented to me for dining was delightful.  The cook spread the lettuce on a real plate (usually, they serve in those plastic basket-thingies) centered the burger on top, and then piled on the ordered toppings.  She spaced the pickles out in a ring around the edge of the plate.  And added the mustard in a plate-spanning star shape.  It was BEAUTIFUL!  And filling.  And the comfort food I really needed.

My only regret?  That I didn’t bring my phone to snap a quickie shot of the plate before I dug in.  The presentation deserved to be shared on the WWW.

Next time (and there WILL be a next time, believe me!) I’ll rectify that.

mainstream-bar-and-grill

4 thoughts on “She’s such a BRAT!

Leave a Reply

