Olympic Tales take II

5164vao-yjl

 

About 2 months ago, I mentioned the Godhunter series by Amy Sumida.  Since that posting, I’ve been obsessed with adding more of this series to my kindle.  I’ve had some disappointments in the story line, but never a bad enough book to make me stop reading the series.

 

 

harry_potter_and_the_cursed_child_special_rehearsal_edition_book_cover

 

I’m almost finished with book 10 now, and have even ignored the new Harry Potter sitting, patiently, in my reading queue.  I almost expect a Patronus to spring from the screen every time I select a new book, because I’m sure the Wizarding world’s patience is wearing thin.

 

 

 

There are currently 18 books in the series – so I’m beyond the half-way point, and have no intention of stopping until I’ve had them all under my nose.

I’ve lost count of the number of  times I’ve mused to myself “What can she (the author) POSSIBLY get Vervain (the character) into NEXT???”

 

 

A very interesting twist in this series is one I haven’t seen anywhere else…polyamory.

I’m not afraid of alternate lifestyle books.  I’ve avidly read same-sex orientated characters, neuter characters, vanilla-straight characters, and trans characters.  I’ve jumped into the stories of Christians, Buddhists, Wiccans & Jews;  run through the lives of Vegans, Vegetarians and your basic Omnivores.

If the author constructs a good character that comes alive in my head, it doesn’t matter what the surfaces are – I’m entertained (and educated) by the thought processes behind that surface.

And I like that – it continues to open my eyes to the diverse nature of humanity.

41zayixoqkl-_sx331_bo1204203200_The only stumbling block in the series so far was book 4 (Marked by Death).  This book took our lead character down an incredibly dark path…so dark, that I felt some of the depression seeping into reality from the reading.

Around half-way through this book was the only time I contemplated stepping away from the series for the author’s portrayal of abusive domination – as seen from the abusee’s point of view.  I think there may have been an abusive situation in the author’s life that she draws from.

 

I do have to give fair warning, though.  If you don’t like sex in your reading material, you might not find the Godhunter series entertaining.  Because the lead character has several lovers, there IS more sex in the series than most will be comfortable with.  What it doesn’t have, however, are the overly dramatic, chapters-long descriptors of bedroom play.  Vervain is a very complex being and I’ve enjoyed my time in her head.

 

Leave a Reply

