A Simple, Pretty Thing

This afternoon, I had to take the SQO to the airport.  He’s visiting a friend in Texas on a 4 day weekend.

 

On our way in – they had this sculpture thingie in the corner of the breezeway.  At first, we thought it was construction materials.  Once we got closer, we realized…

 

face-close-in

These are HUGE face masks – the flag flying out the window is sort-of a scale measure…but to really nail it down, I’d guess they were about 6 feet across.

 

pair

 

There were three of them.  This translucent green one was my favorite…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

full-sail

 

And making it even neater, was the rest of the sculpture…

 

 

 

 

All three are stylized sailboats, crafted from some translucent material.  Too bad it’s an overcast day – I’ll bet these three are stunning in full streaming sunlight.

 

 

 

I also got a bonus when we were separating – him going to the x-ray machines and me watching from behind the glass (non-boarding-pass people aren’t allowed past this point), when D pulled one of my newest chainmaille creations out of his pocket.

dude-2

He wanted to let me know he was bringing a little piece of something I’d made with him on the trip.

Gotta love the man!!!!

One thought on “A Simple, Pretty Thing

Leave a Reply

