The Long, Dark Teatime

January in Wisconsin certainly qualifies…

Tempest teacup crop

 

We’ve certainly got dark down.  With our position on this tilted globe, our average sunlight in January is 9 hours.  This means I leave for work JUUUUUUST as the sun is breaking the horizon, and leave work as it’s brushing the hills to the west. All my free-time during the work week is spent in twilight and night.

 

We’ve got cold.  I got a warning last night from my computer that I ‘aught to bundle up this morning, because the morning temp was supposed to be hovering right around a single degree above zero.  When the average temps are afraid of double-digits, every single minute outdoors feels like 10.  That’s long…

 

And I’ve got tea.  Granted, I like the iced stuff with a hint of lemon, but I will occasionally brew up a hot cup.  The most wonderful thing in the world is a hot coffee mug encircled by hands that have just spent a 1:10 ratio of time in single-digit weather.

 

Once I get to this point in the year, I’m past the ‘I wanna hibernate’ phase, because the rest of the world is gone to sleep without me.  It’s quiet, because most of the energy in these parts is deep and slumbering beneath the blanket of snow…dreaming of sunshine and warmth and the promise of spring.

Look at me…all waxing poetic & stuff…

 

Winter, this year, certainly feels like the Long, Dark, Tea-time of the soul (with a subtle nod to Douglas Adams, of course…)

So far this year – I’ve been very contemplative.  Maybe it’s because, once again, I’m within the sphere of influence of the Fox River and the power-nexus which found me the last time I lived in Downtown Waukesha.

Maybe it’s because I’m adding yet another + to the growing string of ’em marching endlessly behind the 29 fiction I keep running regarding my physical age on this ball of dirt.

Maybe it’s because I (and the rest of the country) are holding their collective breaths – waiting to see what direction the inbound Creamsicle Administration (Orange in the White House) is going to spin our little Democratic Republic.

Naaaaaa…

I think I’m extra-contemplative this year because I’ve spent waaaaay too much time on this whirly bird chainmaille pattern.

A whirly group shot

To me – whirlys are a very soothing pattern.  The placement of each ring makes sense.  The form is balanced and ‘right.’   The marble within the cage is secure yet mobile.

And I can add a rainbow of colors with different colored glass.  As I’ve got a new shipment of various marbles winging it’s way to my doorstep right now – I should have plenty of whirlys to go around by spring.

If you want a little whirly of your very own to assist in contemplating the existence of tea and cold Wisconsin winters – you can get one here.

Stay warm, everyone!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

