On Unintentional Funnies

 

abbreviation-fails-14

 

We humans are communicative creatures… we LOVE to share words and concepts.  In our ancient past, these words and concepts were shared verbally, through stories and music, by tribal elders or mystical-persons, or, in the case of music, through the musicians and performers.  And everyone learned by having these traditions passed down verbally.

A little later, and the first writings appeared – pictorial at first, then cuneiform, hieroglyphic, hierarchic and other forms blending easy to reproduce abstract line-forms and pictorial representations,  and finally arriving at standardized alphabetical characters through a series of subtle metamorphosis.

I find it amazing that our languages are just as alive as us humans who created them.  They evolve right alongside us…  And, even if we’ve not added a single new letter to our alphabet for generations, we’ve added a multitude of new words, shortcuts, and pictograms as we continually explore communications.

Look at what the electronic revolution has done for us.  Instead of writing out “You made me chuckle at that one…” now, a simple LOL or picture of a laughing ball crystallize the message in a minimum number of characters.

I see this as both good, and bad.  As a writer – I see it as a dreadful shame that our beautiful language is being pared away bit by bit.  That new minds aren’t being afforded the opportunity to explore the diversity of adverbs and adjectives, piecing together old words in new ways to bring another’s imagination to full-color life from black & white print.

But I also see the efficiency of shortcuts and pictorial representations coming back to our communication attempts…and I love the artistic creativeness of some of our emojis..

 

Sometimes, our shortening of words or imposed limits on characters within an electronic ‘field’ have unintended, and hilarious, consequences.

This morning, as I checked my email – I received a notification that Maggie at The Zombies Ate My Brains had posted a new blog entry.  Here’s what I saw:

 

today

 

Hope they used the underwires to clean their teeth…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “On Unintentional Funnies

  1. Pingback: Visitations | The Tempest and the Teapot

      • Strange. I enjoy the comments, and quite often find that people say things that cause me to flesh out a story, so sometimes I’ll specifically invite comments at the end. But you have to be good about responding … It’s really offensive when one takes the time to write a thoughtful response and it’s just ignored. I’ve stopped following a few blogs for that reason – it was unsatisfying to get just the portion of their thoughts that they’d chosen to write about.

        Like

  2. I try to respond to all comments – even if it’s just a quick or silly joke as a rejoiner. I love to pass along laughter in all its forms.

    I keep telling my boss that my life goal is to make at least 1 person smile or guffaw per day – either in person, on the phone, through emails, or the ‘gasp!’ dread Facebook meme. I have a pretty good average so far.

    Like

Leave a Reply

