Gotta Hand it to you

 

sleeping_beauty_by_jankolas-d4vbi3aAt one time, I had a dream.

When I started the T&T in 2014 on Google- the initial impetus for the blog was to take the teapot (the one on my banner) for walks.  Pose the teapot in interesting places.  Take photographs, and post with story about how I chose said location, what I did, how I got the shot…

Kinda an offshoot of ‘The Red Couch:  A Portrait of America.’

I was hoping, once I’d established there was this weird short round person in the Waukesha/Milwaukee area who’s eccentricity was taking crockery & cameras for a walk, the project would grow into having strangers on the street interact with said teapot.  Photographs would again be taken, and write ups would include a brief interview of my model-of-the-moment.

I even had delusions to morph this into a secondary blog called “Hands across Wisconsin” in which I would focus on the interplay between guest hands and the now ‘ever so famous’ teapot – a kind of travelling – weekend – long-range project.

 

Now…given that I’m an empathic introvert with a low tolerance for any type of socialization…those ideas got scrapped rather quickly.  I remember taking the teapot out for a walk…once.

10796452

ONCE.

***idea…scrapped***

So ya’ll got stuck with my internal monologue instead 😀

 

I’m still obsessed with hands, though…and the Survey Team blog entry brought that idea back into the forefront of my mind.

Why am I obsessed with hands?

 

No other body part has as much visibility to the individual owner than their hands.  We’re continually touching, moving and manipulating things with our hands.  We bring things closer to our visual range to take a good, hard look.  We bring food or drink to our noses for a deep appreciation of the scent before sliding the morsel into our mouths for an exquisite taste.

We get a more intimate interaction with an object by experiencing its texture, weight, or temperature.  Our fingertips and palms have more nerve endings per square inch than just about any other part of our bodies (oddly enough, only your lips have more), and we use those nerve endings in an almost voyeuristic exploration of our surroundings.

Our hands can even speak when the spoken word cannot be heard – through culturally-accepted gestures.

Our hands are the way we interact with our world…and it shows within a LOT of our references.

“I know this place like I know the back of my hand…”

“He’s wrapped around her little finger…”

“Hey…gimme a hand, will ya?”

A part of me still wants to photographically explore the way we humans use our hands to interact with our world…

maybe I’ll restart that project again…

 

someday…

9541931856_f2fbe652b1_b

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Gotta Hand it to you

  1. I can see how the teapot plan could morph into an overwhelming venture. But the hands, thing… I think it could work, if you asked people to sen you images, but… yeah, god knows what you’d find in your inbox, eh?

    Like

Leave a Reply

