Flirting With Potatoes

8d0f2793b8934dff98442c4522f78dde

I think I have a problem…

I’ve been doing the keto thing since May of last year.  It hasn’t been without its ups and downs, but far more ups, than downs.

Lately, though…I’ve found more and more entries in my food tracking spreadsheet…

yes, I’m an Excel Junkie – if it needs monitoring, it goes on a spreadsheet

…for potatoes.

When the boys of the Beltempest had their live show – we had burgers & fries for dinner at the bar.  No bun on the burger – and I didn’t eat all the fries…but I had SOME.

For S’s birthday celebration, we went down to Mainstream Bar & Grill – again, for burgers & fries.  Still no bun on the burger – but them sweet potato fries ended up once again on my plate and in my stomach.

Earlier in the week, the kids made their dinner, and on the menu were tater tots.  I snuck 4.

thumb_600

Last night – it was time to once again replenish my sock drawer – so it was off to the laundromat.  Laundry always equates takeout.  I went to Jimmy John’s for one of their unwiches (meats, cheeses etc…wrapped in lettuce instead of a loaf of bread) – and bought a bag of potato chips.

Ate the whole thing.

Oh…the shame…

 

I’ve only myself to blame.  Potatoes are my Kryptonite  carb-bomb…and I’m reaching for comfort foods again for a variety of reasons.

It’s coming up on the Fiscal Year End at work (for those who work in accounting – I apologize for making you shudder) so the tension level in the office is high.

My boss is once again in one of HER moods, which translates down into even higher stress levels, because flying to the Left Coast to slap some sense into her would result in both being fired and arrested.

Spring is TRYING to come to Wisconsin, but Mother Nature is a biploar bitch and has tripped out off her meds again.  The continual warm, cold, warm, cold cycles play merry havoc with my sensitivity to the Natural.  It doesn’t know if it’s time come out of winter hibernation or not…so mystical energies are at their all-time low.  There’s nothing to reach for to replenish my personal stock against the weather cycles.

And…I’ve been in a keto stall for about a month.  The pants aren’t getting any tighter, but they aren’t getting any baggier, either.

Are you SURE I can’t just sleep until after March 31st?

icon-sleep

9 thoughts on “Flirting With Potatoes

Leave a Reply

