Get on my Lawn!

For quite some time, now, I have a segment of my walk where I abandon the solid concrete and put feet on the ground itself.  I feel by doing so, I connect just that much better with our Earth.  Connecting with nature (even the tiny bits you find in your standard city) is something that speaks beyond words.

There is this long swatch of grass bordering the railroad tracks and the river.  Because it’s this close to the tracks, it’s considered the domain of the city (you can’t build that close to the tracks because…well…when rail accidents happen, they tend to spread their destruction), and thus, is fair game for any walkers who wish to wander.

So…I leave the pavement at the beginning of this swatch, and tromp across a narrow band of green with the river on one side, the street on the other, and the tracks once the river bends north to swing around Bethesda Park.

Right here…the little red line…is part of my walk home.

Untitled

The trees along this stretch fan out and over the grass, giving me a bit of shade.  The breeze comes up from the river, giving me a bit of relief from the (usually) hot sun.  It’s here that I offer a bit of blessing, and a bit of homage, to the Fox River.

I honor the Fox River with a bow and a few soft words of admiration when I come up to this point on my homeward journey, because water is life, for which I am grateful.

The Natural has taken it upon itself to give a little something back to me.

Raspberry bush

I have been graced with a tangle of wild raspberry bushes under the canopy of trees bordering the river.

I take one or 2 berries a day…just a bit of sweetness for my walk.  I leave the rest.  So far, the bushes haven’t been stripped by any foragers…either of the 4 legged or 2 legged kind.  I feel it’s a bit of a secret understanding between the Natural and I – and a tangible display of our mutual acceptance of each other.

 

5 thoughts on “Get on my Lawn!

    • It’s been slightly cool….and springy with all the rain we’ve had so far this summer. I prefer dark green & fragrant when it comes to grass…the alternative being brown & crisp.

      And speaking of rain…I woke to the sound of thunder this morning, and we’ve flood warnings. I had to take the car again.

      Like

    • Well…yesterday…I snagged 4.

      But if I leave some behind, I get snacks again tomorrow…and the next day 😀

      One thing that helps is we’ve got a huge bike/walk/running trail from Milwaukee to Madison – and Waukesha is on the trail. That’s part of the reason my route is how it is – Bethesda park and the greenspace are along this trail.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

