Art Abandonment Project – 5th Drop

Art Abandonment logo

Now that I’ve got my new cards for the Art Abandonment project – I like dropping stuff a lot more.  This time, I’m taking advantage of the kids going far and wide on their summer camping/festival runs, and I’ve sent a couple of things along with them to drop.

They have three:

Drop weekend of 7.27-7.30.17

These little pretties will be abandoned in Harmony Park, MN, as part of the Campfire Flow Fest going on the weekend of 7.28-7.30.17.  I don’t know where the kids are going to do the specific drops, but S has said she plans on doing the ‘deed’ early in the weekend, to allow plenty of time for my little pretties to be found.

Now…I can’t post pics of the actual drops yet, because they haven’t happened – but I’ll give you a little background on my pretties.

 

Chainmaille 8 point Byzantine Star Abandoned 7.27-7.30.17

Yes, it’s another Byzantine Star pendant.  These are happy little charms – they’re some of the first forms I was able to make when I started chainmailling, and I just love to make ’em.  This is another 8 point star, in mixed copper & aluminum.

Chainmaille Whirly Bird Abandoned 7.27-7.30.17

Whirlys also feature on my favorite things to make list.  This one has a reddish marble in it, from S’s big bag of antique marbles.  I added some red aluminum connector rings to accentuate the marble’s color.  These are my favorite little fiddle toys.  Because the cage is slightly loose around the marble (but not too loose to allow the marble to slip out) it can roll around in your hand or between your fingers.  The form is fluid and alive in your hand or wherever you play with it.

Chainmaille Celtic Pendant Abandoned 7.27-7.30.17

And lastly – the 4 point Celtic Star.  This little guy was an early experiment in Maille.  I don’t think I’ve ever made another.  I do remember looking over the piece as I dragged it out of the storage case, and saying “Man…that’s a bad closure.  Oooooh – there’s another one…”  So pliers were applied to fix my ‘student’ closures before tucking him in his bag.  I might have to revisit making these stars, as they do look nice, and were fairly easy to put together.

 

Wish the kids stealth as they drop these pieces for the festies to find and cherish.

4 thoughts on “Art Abandonment Project – 5th Drop

  1. I love the whirly and marble. I have a soft spot for marbles. I’m pretty sure I still have a can of them from my youth rattling around in the bottom desk drawer. I’m also pretty sure I kept them so I could honestly say I never lost my marbles but then kept on keeping them even after turning older than 10. Maybe so someday 50 years later your beautiful work could remind me of happy, youthfull days.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m proud to have instigated a trip for you down memory lane 😀

      I have a funny story about loosing one’s marbles…

      I ordered some marbles from an online vendor for the whirlys – built a few, then tucked the spare marbles away somewhere in the clutter within my work area.
      When I was in whirly mode again, I couldn’t find where I’d put them.

      So I legitimately LOST my marbles…and had to order more.

      I’ve since found the original purchase and put them to good use…but the kids like to remind me that I did, at one time, officially lose my marbles. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

